Skip to content

Pet portraits… Old Alf

May 23, 2011

His name is ALF, he’s 17 and he stinks!! The owner’s description… not mine.

I don’t usually show any of my work before it’s finished, it’s a pride thing. I think it’s like dishing up a meal half cooked; it’s not gonna be tasty and your diners might not come back. But, I’m learning that it’s important show your ingredients and processes, people like to know what they’re eating!

I always take photos to document my work at certain stages; it helps me to focus and also to see what works and what doesn’t. It’s easy to overwork a painting and photographs act as an impartial reference point. I also like to see how far the painting has come, it spurs me on to complete the work.  I’ve pushed myself to paint everyday this week, even if I haven’t felt like it and it’s paid off, not only have made good progress in a relatively short amount of time, but I’ve really enjoyed it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

