Skip to content

Seven Day Art Challenge

June 30, 2011

I’ve been spoilt by the amount of blogs that are offering inspiration, motivation and advice, my favourite being the ‘challenge blogs’. It’s easy to identify your goals and dreams; it’s reaching them that are the difficult part. For me, my biggest problem is that I don’t know how or where to start, the task seams so big and daunting and out of my reach that I procrastinate or do nothing at all. By setting challenges it breaks down the task into bite sized pieces that uncover the path to your goal.

The best blog that I’ve come across so far is http://the365daychallenge.com/. When I looked through the list of challenges; it seemed too simple, I guess that’s the point. Anything is achievable as long as we break it down and make it simple. So, I’m taking one day at a time, following the rules and taking on the challenge.

This gave me the idea to set my own art challenge. I’m going to dedicate 1 hour a day to creating art, to keep it interesting I’m going to have a different task for each day of the week.

 

 

Seven Day Art Challenge

  • 1 hour portrait
  • 1 hour still life
  • 1 hour Self portrait
  • Photo project
  • Favourite artist of the week/exhibition
  • Freestyle painting
  • 1 hour drawing project

I’ve restricted myself to 1 hour because a/ it’s more than I’m doing at the moment. b/ any longer and won’t want to do it. c/ I take too long to finish a painting, hopefully this will speed me up and make me less precious about my work and let me experiment more.

I can carry out the challenges in any order as long as they are all touched upon within the week. I’m being realist about this and allowing the challenge to fit around my life will ensure that I’m successful. I will try to blog every day, but the most important thing for me is that I’m creating. I’ve spent so much time creating work for other people specifications that I’ve lost track of what it is that drives me to paint. I’m hoping that in a few months I have a body of work that I’m proud of as well as a more established artistic identity.

I started last night with challenge 1. The 1 hour portrait. I’ll post the results shortly…

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 30, 2011 3:27 pm

    What a great idea and I agree that so many artist and their blogs are so inspiring. Good luck and I’m anxious to see the results.

    • July 1, 2011 9:45 am

      Thank you! I’ve just uploaded the first challenge, let me know what you think 🙂

  2. August 18, 2011 8:31 pm

    Nice blog and some interesting ideas that I remember from my art school days. Yeh, sometimes you just have to start and not think too much about how it will end….

    • August 19, 2011 10:38 am

      Thanks! You’re right, at the moment, just doing it is the most important thing.

Leave a Reply

