Skip to content

1 hour painting: Fleetwood Lady

August 5, 2011

I struggle to finish anything that isn’t a commission. So my aim was to cover the whole canvas in under an hour. Initially, I wanted a finished painting in the hour, but realistically… never gonna happen. So I filled the canvas and it’s an experiment and a study, so I should be less critical of the outcome. The painting isn’t great, but I stuck to the task and completed what I set out to do.

Too many times, I quit on a painting because it isn’t going the way I want it to and I have tons of half finished canvas’ around the house. It’s important to keep going even if it’s a struggle or you’re not feeling motivated because every time you finish a painting you’ve accomplished something. Stop worrying about every study or painting being perfect, this stops you from being expressive and experimental and stunts your growth and improvement as an artist.

So I’m going to be less critical and proud and just paint and try and finish a few along the way.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Janey permalink
    August 5, 2011 3:52 pm

    great image – i think you could go on adding detail to this for years.

    • August 9, 2011 1:36 pm

      Thanks Janey. It’s good to have the choice of simplicity against detail. I’ll see where this one take me. 🙂

  2. August 18, 2011 8:28 pm

    Yup….completing…that’s the tough one! I work in pencil and watercolour because there’s much more chance I’ll accomplish something.

    • August 19, 2011 10:35 am

      Good point, I find watercolour a little unforgiving, but I might give it another go.

Leave a Reply

